Understanding

Sister Mary Andrew said, 

My soul is invisible. 

But her hands showed me, 

It was just hidden, inside my chest, beside my heart.

 

Sister Mary Andrew said, 

Sins left black spots on my soul, decay, 

Like the dentist’s posters of Murphy the Molar.  

Sister Mary Andrew said, 

Mortal sins would leave my soul 

Black as the ace of spades, 

I could see it, 

 Complete with the Bicycle card logo. 

 

Sister Mary Andrew said, 

 Grace is a gift from God. 

And I knew I would come out of the confessional 

And find a box, wrapped in gold paper 

With a tag: To Betsy. From God, with love. 

And inside.. What? 

A spiritual toothpaste to shine up my soul? 

 

Years passed, wearing a blue blazer and kilt,

I became wiser, 

The gold wrapped box and tooth decay sins were left behind. 

The enigmatic grace was forgotten, until… 

My brother said, 

Physical grace comes from being at one with your body,

Comfortable in your skin. 

And holy Grace comes from being at one with God,

Comfortable in your spirituality. 

 

I try to be graceful, and full of Grace 

At peace with my body and my God.

Until I arrive at the next level, 

This enlightenment satisfies my Bicycle card soul.

  1. #1 by Bob Seguin on August 2, 2011 - 7:29 am

    Aces!

    • #2 by Donnabetz on August 2, 2011 - 9:01 am

      Thank you. I suppose I should give you a footnote credit since you’re the “brother” referred to in the poem, right?

Leave a comment